Board of Trustees


Following the Board of Trustees meeting, which took place on Thursday 12 July 2018, and in line with the articles of association and constitution, we would like to announce the following changes to the Board of Trustees.

The new Chair and Vice Chair were appointed:


  • Matthew Clements-Wheeler – Chair

Matthew is a fellow of the Institute of School Business Leadership and has chaired our Fellowship Assessment Panel. He chaired the practitioner group that wrote the new ISBL professional standards for school business professionals and currently sits on the National Qualifications Board overseeing the qualifications and curriculum for the SBL profession.


Matthew has worked in some of the best (and worst!) schools in England and has advised several leading educational organisations on policy issues. He is a respected authority on the non-teaching aspects of running schools and academy trusts, regularly delivering training on, and campaigning for, better management of school resources.


Prior to working in education, he worked at board level in the charity sector project-managing the construction of schools, orphanages and clinics in sub-Saharan Africa and is a trustee of Services for Education, a charity which supports school leaders and delivers music teaching to almost 40,000 pupils a year.


  • Trevor Summerson – Vice Chair

Trevor joined the then Department of Employment in 1973. He undertook an MBA at Sheffield Hallam University in the early 1990s and worked in the Department for Education on policy development.

Trevor moved to the National College in 2002 as Director of SBM programmes. His role was to manage and develop the then ‘Bursar Development Programme’, which saw over 11,000 candidates trained across the 5 programmes developed. He is passionate about the school business profession and convinced that specific training programmes are having a real and positive impact on schools and is extremely proud to have been involved in their development and ongoing review.

He is a companion of the Institute of Administrative Management, International Representative and, until 2017, Advisor to the board of the Association of School Business Officials (ASBO) International in the USA. He was recently awarded by ASBO International the Dr. Fred Hill Award for services to the school business profession. He has been a trustee of ISBL since 2016.


Members will be able to meet our Chair and Vice Chair at the ISBL national conference in November.


The following Trustees have now left the board:

  • Tracey Gray
  • Alex Hunt
  • Simon Oxenham


Back to News